Author Topic: ATCS CP230 and CP229 Muncie ON  (Read 2950 times)

indyspy

  • Tycoon
  • ******
  • Posts: 9870
  • Resident ATCS guru.
ATCS CP230 and CP229 Muncie ON
« on: October 24, 2011, 08:36:32 PM »
ATCS CP230 and CP229 Muncie ON

NS MCP displays for these two CSX interlockings are now on. I am working on a decode.

In the mean time enjoy the better monitoring. NS fixed the misconfigured radio!
If in doubt, Notch it out!

Minicooper

  • Dispatcher
  • *****
  • Posts: 289
Re: ATCS CP230 and CP229 Muncie ON
« Reply #1 on: October 25, 2011, 02:53:36 AM »
At this moment we are receiving signals from West Montpelier all the way to Yorkpoint. The only holdout is West Royerton. Looking forward to seeing the CSX come to life as well. This will greatly help in the railfanning department...

indyspy

  • Tycoon
  • ******
  • Posts: 9870
  • Resident ATCS guru.
Re: ATCS CP230 and CP229 Muncie ON
« Reply #2 on: October 25, 2011, 02:35:00 PM »
At this moment we are receiving signals from West Montpelier all the way to Yorkpoint. The only holdout is West Royerton. Looking forward to seeing the CSX come to life as well. This will greatly help in the railfanning department...

http://inrd.gotdns.com/atcs/ Has the files with the initial rough decode

Expect another update with some tweaks very soon.
If in doubt, Notch it out!

shane_man15

  • Mogul
  • *****
  • Posts: 2427
  • Back to building quality Honda products again.
Re: ATCS CP230 and CP229 Muncie ON
« Reply #3 on: October 25, 2011, 03:22:46 PM »
So, Why does CSX have an ATCS for CP 229 and 230? Is it for NS to put requests in instead of having to call CSX to get everything sorted?
Shane Smiley (shane_man15)

Modeler of the Muncie, Richmond, and Fernald Railway.
Train horns are also my thing.

GIMME A CORVETTE ALREADY!

CIOR

  • The Second
  • Administrator
  • Jay Gould
  • *****
  • Posts: 14272
Re: ATCS CP230 and CP229 Muncie ON
« Reply #4 on: October 25, 2011, 03:36:48 PM »
So, Why does CSX have an ATCS for CP 229 and 230? Is it for NS to put requests in instead of having to call CSX to get everything sorted?

Basically, its a NS/CSX system, and NS pulls data off of it, CSX had to tie into it. 

indyspy

  • Tycoon
  • ******
  • Posts: 9870
  • Resident ATCS guru.
Re: ATCS CP230 and CP229 Muncie ON
« Reply #5 on: October 26, 2011, 09:34:48 PM »
Updated files have been posted again, redownload them and update..  :o
If in doubt, Notch it out!

CIOR

  • The Second
  • Administrator
  • Jay Gould
  • *****
  • Posts: 14272
Re: ATCS CP230 and CP229 Muncie ON
« Reply #6 on: October 26, 2011, 09:45:02 PM »
Got it up and running, looks good.

shane_man15

  • Mogul
  • *****
  • Posts: 2427
  • Back to building quality Honda products again.
Re: ATCS CP230 and CP229 Muncie ON
« Reply #7 on: October 26, 2011, 09:46:44 PM »
No more calling CSX for NS.
Shane Smiley (shane_man15)

Modeler of the Muncie, Richmond, and Fernald Railway.
Train horns are also my thing.

GIMME A CORVETTE ALREADY!

1976

  • Mogul
  • *****
  • Posts: 2746
  • Posts represent the views of no corporations
Re: ATCS CP230 and CP229 Muncie ON
« Reply #8 on: October 26, 2011, 09:48:22 PM »
No more calling CSX for NS.
??? The NS dispatcher still calls the CSX dispatcher.

shane_man15

  • Mogul
  • *****
  • Posts: 2427
  • Back to building quality Honda products again.
Re: ATCS CP230 and CP229 Muncie ON
« Reply #9 on: October 26, 2011, 09:50:52 PM »
??? The NS dispatcher still calls the CSX dispatcher.
Not necessarily.
You click the little signal button and it sends them a request. Only then can CSX confirm or deny access to that signal.
Technically it shouldn't be showing a clear. It should just show that a request is being put in at wherever for a SB or NB movement. When the request goes through, it would show up as a path lined.
Shane Smiley (shane_man15)

Modeler of the Muncie, Richmond, and Fernald Railway.
Train horns are also my thing.

GIMME A CORVETTE ALREADY!

1976

  • Mogul
  • *****
  • Posts: 2746
  • Posts represent the views of no corporations
Re: ATCS CP230 and CP229 Muncie ON
« Reply #10 on: October 26, 2011, 09:52:26 PM »
She was talking about calling CSX this morning.

shane_man15

  • Mogul
  • *****
  • Posts: 2427
  • Back to building quality Honda products again.
Re: ATCS CP230 and CP229 Muncie ON
« Reply #11 on: October 26, 2011, 09:54:02 PM »
She was talking about calling CSX this morning.
She was lying to you to make you feel comfortable.
Shane Smiley (shane_man15)

Modeler of the Muncie, Richmond, and Fernald Railway.
Train horns are also my thing.

GIMME A CORVETTE ALREADY!

CIOR

  • The Second
  • Administrator
  • Jay Gould
  • *****
  • Posts: 14272
Re: ATCS CP230 and CP229 Muncie ON
« Reply #12 on: October 26, 2011, 09:55:01 PM »
The request command for SB moves at CP230 was giving them issues.  She was talking about it yesterday and said she still had to call them.  Something else about 229 as well.

1976

  • Mogul
  • *****
  • Posts: 2746
  • Posts represent the views of no corporations
Re: ATCS CP230 and CP229 Muncie ON
« Reply #13 on: October 26, 2011, 09:55:35 PM »
She was lying to you to make you feel comfortable.
She wasn't talking to me.  And I can't get into any deeper discussion about dispatchers on here... (mumbles to self)

shane_man15

  • Mogul
  • *****
  • Posts: 2427
  • Back to building quality Honda products again.
Re: ATCS CP230 and CP229 Muncie ON
« Reply #14 on: October 26, 2011, 09:57:20 PM »
The request command for SB moves at CP230 was giving them issues.  She was talking about it yesterday and said she still had to call them.  Something else about 229 as well.
It helps to know that background information.  ::)
Shane Smiley (shane_man15)

Modeler of the Muncie, Richmond, and Fernald Railway.
Train horns are also my thing.

GIMME A CORVETTE ALREADY!

1976

  • Mogul
  • *****
  • Posts: 2746
  • Posts represent the views of no corporations
Re: ATCS CP230 and CP229 Muncie ON
« Reply #15 on: October 29, 2011, 04:08:29 PM »
Why is the signal at Vance always lined up on the new ATCS update?

Laguna Man

  • Chief Dispatcher
  • *****
  • Posts: 740
Re: ATCS CP230 and CP229 Muncie ON
« Reply #16 on: October 29, 2011, 09:09:48 PM »
I was wondering the same thing?

CIOR

  • The Second
  • Administrator
  • Jay Gould
  • *****
  • Posts: 14272
Re: ATCS CP230 and CP229 Muncie ON
« Reply #17 on: October 29, 2011, 09:51:16 PM »
Dispatcher seems to keep it fleeted (which just relines it after the train clears the block).  its been down a few times, but unless he wants to hold a train up out east, then it stays up.  If he wants to hold a train up there, then he kicks off the fleet.

Wes Lewis

  • Dispatcher
  • *****
  • Posts: 396
Re: ATCS CP230 and CP229 Muncie ON
« Reply #18 on: October 30, 2011, 04:07:34 PM »
She was lying to you to make you feel comfortable.

Lying is a way of life with them.

indyspy

  • Tycoon
  • ******
  • Posts: 9870
  • Resident ATCS guru.
Re: ATCS CP230 and CP229 Muncie ON
« Reply #19 on: October 30, 2011, 04:19:58 PM »
I never noticed the dispatch kept Vance in fleet mode so much until it came up on the ATCS display. No easy way to see it from a road crossing.

Vance is electronically just part of the CP-229 interlocking. It just has a separate timetable name. Never seen this before.

I don't know why they keep it fleeted so much, I have seen trains come down and block crossings when the NS has the diamond. But then again, perhaps it's a moot point, because when the NS has the diamond, they are blocking the same crossings most of the time anyway!
If in doubt, Notch it out!