Author Topic: 1950's Pictures - Cincinnati Union Terminal  (Read 3093 times)

MrFSS

• Fireman
1950's Pictures - Cincinnati Union Terminal
« on: June 04, 2011, 02:13:15 PM »
A few from Cincinnati.

I am an Administrator of Discuss Amtrak Trains

HoosierVirg

• President
Re: 1950's Pictures - Cincinnati Union Terminal
« Reply #1 on: June 04, 2011, 02:41:54 PM »
Wow, a thousand thanks, many a time I stood and watch those trains at CUT while I was getting on or off our little train to Peru, the National Limited was some train! CUT, my favorite railroad station, so glad the taxpayers of Hamilton County and Cincinnati stepped up and maintain it.
Have a good and safe day!

Go Reds!

INprinter

• The Working Man from Shelbyville!
  • Global Moderator
  • Mogul
  • K9SVL
« Reply #2 on: June 04, 2011, 10:17:13 PM »
Yes, but they let NS tear down the concourse and put in the intermodal terminal. I'm not saying that's a bad thing, but those shots only can exist in history now. None of those platforms exist anymore. At least they saved the priceless wall murals from the inside and put them in the airport terminal building.

Those are really great shots MrFSS. Just keep them coming. I grew up in Covington and went through CUT several times on Southern trains when I was a kid. If you have any of Southern passenger trains please post.

Inprinter
Shelbyville-1st RR in IN: 7/4/1834. 1st RR abandoned in IN: K&S RR 1854, 26 miles. Making IN RR history. Without photons photography would be a black art. You can never get cornered in the Roundhouse.

CIOR

• The Second
  • Administrator
  • Jay Gould
« Reply #3 on: June 04, 2011, 10:53:18 PM »
Yes, but they let NS tear down the concourse and put in the intermodal terminal. I'm not saying that's a bad thing, but those shots only can exist in history now.

As the saying goes
"Paved paradise and put up a parking lot"

HoosierVirg

• President
« Reply #4 on: June 05, 2011, 12:14:00 AM »