Author Topic: How to set up an ATCS (for mobile purposes)  (Read 4961 times)

shane_man15

• Mogul
  • Back to building quality Honda products again.
How to set up an ATCS (for mobile purposes)
« on: November 21, 2010, 11:22:37 PM »
I've been wanting to do this for a couple months now, but I have no experience with electronics.
I just want to plug and play basically. I know that's not possible, but if there are some things for us "noobs" to understand, please help me out.

I would to get a mobile feed set up on my car, but I need to know some cheap radios that I can work with and all the other stuff.

Could anyone help me out here?
Shane Smiley (shane_man15)

Modeler of the Muncie, Richmond, and Fernald Railway.
Train horns are also my thing.

GIMME A CORVETTE ALREADY!

CIOR

• The Second
  • Administrator
  • Jay Gould
Re: How to set up an ATCS (for mobile purposes)
« Reply #1 on: November 21, 2010, 11:38:08 PM »
Hopefully Indyspy will chime in.

I know many guys put Discriminator taps in the scanner and draw the frequency direct to an IMic and then into the PC. 

That or get a PC app for your mobile phone and look in on your PC at home running the program..

shane_man15

• Mogul
« Reply #2 on: November 21, 2010, 11:49:47 PM »
I've been wanting to do this for a couple months now, but I have no experience with electronics.
I just want to plug and play basically. I know that's not possible, but if there are some things for us "noobs" to understand, please help me out.

I would to get a mobile feed set up on my car, but I need to know some cheap radios that I can work with and all the other stuff.

Could anyone help me out here?
Well, I have a laptop, and I was gonna give it a shot with my dad's radio which is capable of those frequencies, but he won't let me touch it.  I'm hoping to buy a cheap scanner that is capable of those frequencies and put a discriminator tap in it.

indyspy

• Tycoon
  • Resident ATCS guru.
« Reply #3 on: November 22, 2010, 08:34:20 PM »