Author Topic: Audio Streaming question  (Read 3121 times)

shane_man15

  • Mogul
  • *****
  • Posts: 2427
  • Back to building quality Honda products again.
Audio Streaming question
« on: October 17, 2010, 09:49:06 PM »
For those of you that either have an audio stream or had one, do any of you guys use routers?
and if so, is there one that you recommend? Mainly due to all the computers in my family's home, I have no choice but to use a router.

Unless there are better suggestions.
Shane Smiley (shane_man15)

Modeler of the Muncie, Richmond, and Fernald Railway.
Train horns are also my thing.

GIMME A CORVETTE ALREADY!

CSX2605

  • Mogul
  • *****
  • Posts: 4700
  • Remember the Semaphores!
Re: Audio Streaming question
« Reply #1 on: October 17, 2010, 10:36:46 PM »
My stream goes through a router in the garage. I have an ethernet switch in the basement where the computers are for the ATCS and scanner feed. I use a Linksys router.
It goes through twice, once out of the server computer, through the ethernet switch, to the host server(in IL) and back to me on my personal computer.  Works fine.
My internet is on a private, wireless network and I'm thankful for that or I would be in the stone age, again!  :o
The computer on the left is the server and the one on the right is my personal computer.
« Last Edit: October 17, 2010, 10:50:03 PM by CSX2605 »

shane_man15

  • Mogul
  • *****
  • Posts: 2427
  • Back to building quality Honda products again.
Re: Audio Streaming question
« Reply #2 on: October 17, 2010, 11:04:21 PM »
Well, I know the problem. It's the router. The router has a firewall and I don't know how to solve that problem.
The only thing that crosses my mind is a switch, since they don't have firewalls.
Shane Smiley (shane_man15)

Modeler of the Muncie, Richmond, and Fernald Railway.
Train horns are also my thing.

GIMME A CORVETTE ALREADY!

indrr

  • Administrator
  • Tycoon
  • *****
  • Posts: 5580
  • indrr admin
Re: Audio Streaming question
« Reply #3 on: October 17, 2010, 11:51:06 PM »
Well, I know the problem. It's the router. The router has a firewall and I don't know how to solve that problem.
The only thing that crosses my mind is a switch, since they don't have firewalls.
Most routers have DMZ or port forwarding.

DMZ opens a computer (which you set in the router) up completely to the outside world. This is usually overkill and will put your own computer at major risk of attack if you don't know what you're doing.

Port forwarding does just that...forwards specific ports that might otherwise be blocked to a specific computer.

In the end, you shouldn't have problems with the router if you can do those.
Nathan Bilger
-----------------
Board Admin, Webmaster
http://www.indianarailroads.org.

shane_man15

  • Mogul
  • *****
  • Posts: 2427
  • Back to building quality Honda products again.
Re: Audio Streaming question
« Reply #4 on: October 18, 2010, 12:18:54 AM »
Most routers have DMZ or port forwarding.

DMZ opens a computer (which you set in the router) up completely to the outside world. This is usually overkill and will put your own computer at major risk of attack if you don't know what you're doing.

Port forwarding does just that...forwards specific ports that might otherwise be blocked to a specific computer.

In the end, you shouldn't have problems with the router if you can do those.
How would I find out if it has one of these deals going on? Look it up in the manual?
Shane Smiley (shane_man15)

Modeler of the Muncie, Richmond, and Fernald Railway.
Train horns are also my thing.

GIMME A CORVETTE ALREADY!

indrr

  • Administrator
  • Tycoon
  • *****
  • Posts: 5580
  • indrr admin
Re: Audio Streaming question
« Reply #5 on: October 18, 2010, 06:16:31 AM »
How would I find out if it has one of these deals going on? Look it up in the manual?
Pretty sure it will. You'll have to look it up in the manual to figure out how to implement the settings anyway though.

Do you already know which ports you'll want to forward to the server?
Nathan Bilger
-----------------
Board Admin, Webmaster
http://www.indianarailroads.org.

shane_man15

  • Mogul
  • *****
  • Posts: 2427
  • Back to building quality Honda products again.
Re: Audio Streaming question
« Reply #6 on: October 18, 2010, 08:09:13 AM »
I believe it's 8000?
Unless you're talking about the port number on the router. in which case, That would be number 3.
Shane Smiley (shane_man15)

Modeler of the Muncie, Richmond, and Fernald Railway.
Train horns are also my thing.

GIMME A CORVETTE ALREADY!

indrr

  • Administrator
  • Tycoon
  • *****
  • Posts: 5580
  • indrr admin
Re: Audio Streaming question
« Reply #7 on: October 18, 2010, 10:07:24 AM »
I believe it's 8000?
Unless you're talking about the port number on the router. in which case, That would be number 3.
No, I meant the internet port. You'll need to open/forward ports 8000 and 8001 to the I/P address of your server computer. Internet communication usually uses two adjacent ports (one down, one up), though not necessarily, so that's why opening both of them.

Try that and see what happens.
Nathan Bilger
-----------------
Board Admin, Webmaster
http://www.indianarailroads.org.

indyspy

  • Tycoon
  • ******
  • Posts: 9893
  • Resident ATCS guru.
Re: Audio Streaming question
« Reply #8 on: October 18, 2010, 12:52:12 PM »
Shoutcast uses 8000 for outgoing streaming and 8001 for the source to connect to the shoutcast server.

So if the stream source is on the same PC or on the same internal LAN, you don't need to forward 8001 as it's behind your router all ready.

You can change the values from 8000 if you wish. I have one on 8000 and one on 8002 for streaming special stuff as I desire. Just leave one port in between for the upstream. And avoid 8080, that is the secondary HTML port to 80

Here is my stream.
http://inrd.gotdns.com/inrdradio.htm
If in doubt, Notch it out!

shane_man15

  • Mogul
  • *****
  • Posts: 2427
  • Back to building quality Honda products again.
Re: Audio Streaming question
« Reply #9 on: October 18, 2010, 06:22:00 PM »
Well, see, the problem is the Firewall in the router is blocking any outbound access.
If I plug my computer straight into the DSL modem, it works fine, but since this is a family network, I can't bypass anything.
and I don't really want to use a switch unless I really need to.
Shane Smiley (shane_man15)

Modeler of the Muncie, Richmond, and Fernald Railway.
Train horns are also my thing.

GIMME A CORVETTE ALREADY!

indrr

  • Administrator
  • Tycoon
  • *****
  • Posts: 5580
  • indrr admin
Re: Audio Streaming question
« Reply #10 on: October 20, 2010, 12:38:49 PM »
Based on Indyspy's comment, opening port 8000 should do it.  Have you figured out that setting on the router yet?
Nathan Bilger
-----------------
Board Admin, Webmaster
http://www.indianarailroads.org.

shane_man15

  • Mogul
  • *****
  • Posts: 2427
  • Back to building quality Honda products again.
Re: Audio Streaming question
« Reply #11 on: October 20, 2010, 12:55:34 PM »
Based on Indyspy's comment, opening port 8000 should do it.  Have you figured out that setting on the router yet?
Not yet. If it's something software-based, I could be screwed. lol. We never installed the software for it. We just plugged it in and had internet. Tada. haha.
Shane Smiley (shane_man15)

Modeler of the Muncie, Richmond, and Fernald Railway.
Train horns are also my thing.

GIMME A CORVETTE ALREADY!

indrr

  • Administrator
  • Tycoon
  • *****
  • Posts: 5580
  • indrr admin
Re: Audio Streaming question
« Reply #12 on: October 20, 2010, 01:28:05 PM »
Not yet. If it's something software-based, I could be screwed. lol. We never installed the software for it. We just plugged it in and had internet. Tada. haha.
Can you log into your router?



Nathan Bilger
-----------------
Board Admin, Webmaster
http://www.indianarailroads.org.

shane_man15

  • Mogul
  • *****
  • Posts: 2427
  • Back to building quality Honda products again.
Re: Audio Streaming question
« Reply #13 on: October 20, 2010, 04:43:59 PM »
I'm not sure.
It does have a password set I think, or it used to anyways. I'll have to look into it once I get back home in a week or so.
Shane Smiley (shane_man15)

Modeler of the Muncie, Richmond, and Fernald Railway.
Train horns are also my thing.

GIMME A CORVETTE ALREADY!

INprinter

  • Willing to railfan for deep fried pickles!
  • Global Moderator
  • Mogul
  • *****
  • Posts: 2381
  • Licensed Ham Radio Operator - K9SVL
Re: Audio Streaming question
« Reply #14 on: December 27, 2010, 04:58:53 PM »

Here is my stream.
http://inrd.gotdns.com/inrdradio.htm

Is the stream offline for service? I was getting it last night and this morning, but when I returned home later this afternoon it was no longer available. I jsut figured out how to get it on my Blackberry as well.

Inprinter
« Last Edit: December 27, 2010, 05:25:14 PM by inprinter »
Shelbyville-1st RR in IN: 7/4/1834. 1st RR abandoned in IN: K&S RR 1854, 26 miles. Making IN RR history. Without photons photography would be a black art. You can never get cornered in the Roundhouse.

indyspy

  • Tycoon
  • ******
  • Posts: 9893
  • Resident ATCS guru.
Re: Audio Streaming question
« Reply #15 on: December 27, 2010, 10:12:20 PM »
It's fixed now, The clip on the end of the 50 foot LAN cord bridging the Router upstairs to the switch downstairs broke allowing it to came loose.

It is back up, sorry for the trouble.
If in doubt, Notch it out!

INprinter

  • Willing to railfan for deep fried pickles!
  • Global Moderator
  • Mogul
  • *****
  • Posts: 2381
  • Licensed Ham Radio Operator - K9SVL
Re: Audio Streaming question
« Reply #16 on: December 28, 2010, 12:14:12 AM »
It's fixed now, The clip on the end of the 50 foot LAN cord bridging the Router upstairs to the switch downstairs broke allowing it to came loose.

It is back up, sorry for the trouble.

No trouble, glad it is back up and running. I was really beginning to enjoy getting the feed.

Inprinter
Shelbyville-1st RR in IN: 7/4/1834. 1st RR abandoned in IN: K&S RR 1854, 26 miles. Making IN RR history. Without photons photography would be a black art. You can never get cornered in the Roundhouse.

shane_man15

  • Mogul
  • *****
  • Posts: 2427
  • Back to building quality Honda products again.
Re: Audio Streaming question
« Reply #17 on: June 06, 2011, 08:20:16 AM »
I happened to hear I think "Aldamont, Illinois" this morning.
Who's got a hardcore booster on the system?  ;D
Shane Smiley (shane_man15)

Modeler of the Muncie, Richmond, and Fernald Railway.
Train horns are also my thing.

GIMME A CORVETTE ALREADY!

INprinter

  • Willing to railfan for deep fried pickles!
  • Global Moderator
  • Mogul
  • *****
  • Posts: 2381
  • Licensed Ham Radio Operator - K9SVL
Re: Audio Streaming question
« Reply #18 on: June 06, 2011, 08:27:33 AM »
I happened to hear I think "Aldamont, Illinois" this morning.
Who's got a hardcore booster on the system?  ;D

I think I've been hearing strange stuff as well. But I've been accused of hearing things before.  ;D

Inprinter
Shelbyville-1st RR in IN: 7/4/1834. 1st RR abandoned in IN: K&S RR 1854, 26 miles. Making IN RR history. Without photons photography would be a black art. You can never get cornered in the Roundhouse.

shane_man15

  • Mogul
  • *****
  • Posts: 2427
  • Back to building quality Honda products again.
Re: Audio Streaming question
« Reply #19 on: June 06, 2011, 08:28:57 AM »
I think I've been hearing strange stuff as well. But I've been accused of hearing things before.  ;D

Inprinter
You're not alone.  ;D
I thought something wasn't right when I was hearing Aldamont and the 105.# detector. I'm like...What?!  :o
Shane Smiley (shane_man15)

Modeler of the Muncie, Richmond, and Fernald Railway.
Train horns are also my thing.

GIMME A CORVETTE ALREADY!

CSX_CO

  • Tycoon
  • ******
  • Posts: 8078
  • Ok...lets get our stories straight......
Re: Audio Streaming question
« Reply #20 on: June 06, 2011, 10:08:29 AM »
You're not alone.  ;D
I thought something wasn't right when I was hearing Aldamont and the 105.# detector. I'm like...What?!  :o

I was getting some pretty good skip at work last night.  Every time someone in Vincennes toned up the dispatcher it came in loud and clear.  I can usually hear the UP's Dispatcher up near Chicago Heights most nights too, but this was a first hearing something from Vincennes.

Practice Safe CSX

INprinter

  • Willing to railfan for deep fried pickles!
  • Global Moderator
  • Mogul
  • *****
  • Posts: 2381
  • Licensed Ham Radio Operator - K9SVL
Re: Audio Streaming question
« Reply #21 on: June 06, 2011, 10:09:33 AM »
You're not alone.  ;D
I thought something wasn't right when I was hearing Aldamont and the 105.# detector. I'm like...What?!  :o

Didn't Indyspy say that he had worked on his scanner the other day?

Inprinter
Shelbyville-1st RR in IN: 7/4/1834. 1st RR abandoned in IN: K&S RR 1854, 26 miles. Making IN RR history. Without photons photography would be a black art. You can never get cornered in the Roundhouse.

indyspy

  • Tycoon
  • ******
  • Posts: 9893
  • Resident ATCS guru.
Re: Audio Streaming question
« Reply #22 on: June 06, 2011, 10:27:17 AM »
We got one of those BLOCKBUSTER openings. This was not tropospheric ducting, but an extremely rare and extrmely strong Sporadic E opening. These are the openings that turn the VHF bands into absolute bedlam. Instead of 100 miles away, you get 200 to 300 miles sometimes.
If in doubt, Notch it out!

CIOR

  • The Second
  • Administrator
  • Jay Gould
  • *****
  • Posts: 14285
Re: Audio Streaming question
« Reply #23 on: June 06, 2011, 04:08:23 PM »
I was listening to CSX ID talk trains through CP153?
We had nice skips on the ATCS Muncie server too.

The best one was listening to the Chicago Line NS dispatcher give time at CP412 I think he said.
Listened to the Marion branch most of the night as well as this morning when i got up.
Radio killed off around 10am, same with ATCS, the distance just dropped with the heating of the morning.

Minicooper

  • Dispatcher
  • *****
  • Posts: 289
Re: Audio Streaming question
« Reply #24 on: June 06, 2011, 05:49:57 PM »
Speaking of the ATCS, we were getting hits on addresses that weren't even named, not sure where they were coming from but some of them had multiple hits on them. It was nice to see West Montpelier up for as long as it was and to see a new one come up in West Richmond. Even Alexandria came on board for a while. Never got that one before... Oh, West Royerton had one hit for it. First time it's been up in a week... I kind of wonder what we could get with a better antenna and maybe a booster?

shane_man15

  • Mogul
  • *****
  • Posts: 2427
  • Back to building quality Honda products again.
Re: Audio Streaming question
« Reply #25 on: June 06, 2011, 05:52:35 PM »
Speaking of the ATCS, we were getting hits on addresses that weren't even named, not sure where they were coming from but some of them had multiple hits on them. It was nice to see West Montpelier up for as long as it was and to see a new one come up in West Richmond. Even Alexandria came on board for a while. Never got that one before... Oh, West Royerton had one hit for it. First time it's been up in a week... I kind of wonder what we could get with a better antenna and maybe a booster?
Better antenna, booster, 300 ft antenna tower. ;D
Shane Smiley (shane_man15)

Modeler of the Muncie, Richmond, and Fernald Railway.
Train horns are also my thing.

GIMME A CORVETTE ALREADY!

bosworthj

  • Conductor
  • ****
  • Posts: 239
  • P42/P40 Collector
ATCS Skip?
« Reply #26 on: June 07, 2011, 04:13:31 PM »
Didn't think the ATCS 800 mhz channels were bothered that much by "skip."

The lo band dispatcher and road channels were sure wild yesterday.
Without world class trains and internet, Indiana is failing as a sucessful competitor in the 21st Century.

indyspy

  • Tycoon
  • ******
  • Posts: 9893
  • Resident ATCS guru.
Re: Audio Streaming question
« Reply #27 on: June 07, 2011, 10:14:41 PM »
900mhz will tropo skip before VHF will, but it's unaffected by Sporadic E.

We were getting some blockbuster tropo the other night.
If in doubt, Notch it out!

CSX2605

  • Mogul
  • *****
  • Posts: 4700
  • Remember the Semaphores!
Re: Audio Streaming question
« Reply #28 on: June 10, 2011, 11:50:18 PM »
My server was picking up BCP's from Athens and Falkville AL.  Nashville, Ridgetop, Peytonsville, Fosterville & Sadlers TN. Wellington, IL.
One MCP was CR drawbridge. It was an awesome night for the ATCS. We had the CE&D lit up except for the rough terrain at Hillsdale.  I've also noticed when thunderstorms are in the region, they will cause some skip.

bosworthj

  • Conductor
  • ****
  • Posts: 239
  • P42/P40 Collector
Code Streaming question
« Reply #29 on: June 14, 2011, 10:22:22 AM »
Are you using a directional antenna?  Just curious.  I remember years ago that once and a while a lower UHF TV station would experience skip, but most commonly it only happened on the lower (now gone) VHF channels 2-6.  It seemed like when there was an opening, it moved across all channels eventually, sometimes all at once, sometimes progressively.

It would seem like the code stream monitoring display would definitely be a good method of monitoring propagation at thos frequencies.  I have been using the amateur packet system for watching VHF propagation for a long time, and they have recently improved their maps significantly.

Lots of fun when one has spare time!
Without world class trains and internet, Indiana is failing as a sucessful competitor in the 21st Century.

CSX2605

  • Mogul
  • *****
  • Posts: 4700
  • Remember the Semaphores!
Re: Audio Streaming question
« Reply #30 on: June 17, 2011, 09:36:38 PM »
I'm using a Cushcraft 4db omni.
This evening I am really hauling in Evansville and Kentucky MCP & BCP's. Must be from the rain this evening. Getting Ft. Cambell, Arklow, Hanson and several other Henderson Sub control points.