Author Topic: Ind Court of Appeals: Blocked Grade Crossing Statute IS enforceable  (Read 3571 times)

INRD Fan

• Conductor
The Court of Appeals of Indiana has paved the way to once again permit Indiana law enforcement officers to enforce I.C. 8-6-7.5-1 which states that a railroad corporation must not permit any train to obstruct public travel at a railroad-highway grade crossing for a period in excess of ten (10) minutes, except where such train, railroad car or engine cannot be moved by reason of circumstances over which the railroad corporation has no control. The case is State of Indiana v. Norfolk Southern Railway Company, 02A03-1607-IF-1524.  There are several loopholes which might change this in the future, but for now, the ticketing can re-commence.  See the ICOA decision attached.

Bob Durnell

• President
Re: Ind Court of Appeals: Blocked Grade Crossing Statute IS enforceable
« Reply #1 on: October 23, 2017, 05:05:48 PM »
I'm not a lawyer, nor do I play one on TV, but does it REALLY matter what a STATE court thinks about a situation of FEDERAL jurisdiction?  MY guess is that at some point this would end up in front of a Federal court, and they will do whatever they want with it, regardless of what the State of Indiana thinks. 

Rick

• Mogul
  • Conrail #1
« Reply #2 on: October 23, 2017, 06:49:47 PM »
Itís always been enforceable but police have better things to do than worry about what crossing is block.  If it becomes an issue for days on end then they might respond to public pressure but even then they can only take down the engine number and write it up.  They canít climb on the engine, collect your ID, etc..  They might get paid eventually but I believe the money goes somewhere other than the town or city it was written in.  So, in essence the city is wasting tax payer dollars that they will not see in return if the tickets are ever paid.