Author Topic: ATCS basics  (Read 2666 times)

Kelthomp

• Chief Dispatcher
ATCS basics
« on: April 08, 2014, 04:12:46 PM »
I know it has probably been talked about but can somebody help me with ATCS please. I'm new to all the technology and it confuses the heck out of me. What is it? What does it do? How can I set it up? I just need the basics.

arcticrail

• Superintendent
Re: ATCS basics
« Reply #1 on: April 08, 2014, 04:40:53 PM »
ATCS from a railfans point of view:

We grab radio signals transmitted from various RR control & indication devices, interpret them and put it on a graphic display that resembles a dispatchers board.  This enables you to view what's going on on the RR....assuming they transmit the data in a way that can be managed.

The longer version:

Things likes switches and signals receive instructions on what to do and transmit information on current status.  This info is transmitted via radio at about 900MHz.  Those signals can be received using the appropriate radios and sent to a PC.  There is a program called ATCS monitor that listens to the signals and interprets them based on someone in the field watching what changes when a signal is sent.  It displays those interpretations for you so you can watch the railroad "work".

All the radios, PC, antennas and other little goodies are installed by friendly people who invest time and money to be able to monitor the signals.  Anyone with an ATCS program can watch any RR that is being broadcast to the web.  Not every RR has it, not every system  is accessible.

Take a look under this header....you'll find plenty of information about it...like the link to this thread: 

Received a question tonight about ATCS and what it looks like.  The screen shot here is from the NCD this evening.  This is what we're looking at all the time...very cool!

That's the short version....

Kenny
One of the New Castle District ATCS Squirrels.  (the one with no attention span).

If it moves or makes noise...I'm interested!