Author Topic: Setting up ATCS  (Read 2414 times)

Kelthomp

  • Chief Dispatcher
  • *****
  • Posts: 543
Setting up ATCS
« on: May 17, 2014, 08:45:50 PM »
Now that I have a general background of ATCS and what it is I was wondering, how do I set it up on my computer? I have a scanner that I think can work with it now I just need it set up. Any help is great!

CIOR

  • The Second
  • Administrator
  • Jay Gould
  • *****
  • Posts: 14292
Re: Setting up ATCS
« Reply #1 on: May 19, 2014, 04:27:56 PM »
You doing a mobile setup or you just mean for home?

At home you can simple put in the port for the territory and dont need a scanner.

Kelthomp

  • Chief Dispatcher
  • *****
  • Posts: 543
Re: Setting up ATCS
« Reply #2 on: May 19, 2014, 06:04:05 PM »
If I could get directions for both of those that would be great

CIOR

  • The Second
  • Administrator
  • Jay Gould
  • *****
  • Posts: 14292
Re: Setting up ATCS
« Reply #3 on: May 19, 2014, 10:19:20 PM »
You can youtube it and there are a few good videos.  Otherwise its look at the wiki page for atcs.
I.wish there was a better way but its a lot of trail and error. 
What lines do you want to monitor?

If you are trying to monitor via scanner then you have to be within a few miles of the locations.

Kelthomp

  • Chief Dispatcher
  • *****
  • Posts: 543
Re: Setting up ATCS
« Reply #4 on: May 20, 2014, 05:37:16 AM »
The NS Lafayette District and the CSX Indianapolis line

KCSLOVER94

  • President
  • *****
  • Posts: 1672
  • Kansas City Southern - The only original.
Re: Setting up ATCS
« Reply #5 on: May 20, 2014, 09:42:02 AM »
The NS Lafayette District and the CSX Indianapolis line
The CSX Indy Line has no ATCS. The Lafayette District ATCS is partially gone again.

Sent from my Samsung Galaxy S4 using Tapatalk

KCS-The Only Original

1976

  • Mogul
  • *****
  • Posts: 2746
  • Posts represent the views of no corporations
Re: Setting up ATCS
« Reply #6 on: May 20, 2014, 09:49:23 AM »
The Lafayette District ATCS is partially gone again.

Sent from my Samsung Galaxy S4 using Tapatalk

I never knew it was fixed. Purdue must've given up.

Kelthomp

  • Chief Dispatcher
  • *****
  • Posts: 543
Re: Setting up ATCS
« Reply #7 on: May 20, 2014, 04:43:46 PM »
What major lines through Indiana have ATCS?

indyspy

  • Tycoon
  • ******
  • Posts: 9886
  • Resident ATCS guru.
Re: Setting up ATCS
« Reply #8 on: May 20, 2014, 05:07:15 PM »
Off hand, and ignoring the very NE corner near Chicago.

CSX (ALL Being decommissioned and taken off the air, replaced by satellite comms)
ex B&O from Chicago to Deshler OH via Garrett IN.
ex C&EI from Danville IL to Evansville IN

NS
Dearborne
Chicago Line, Chicago to Toledo OH via Butler and Elkhart IN

Lake
Chicago District, Chicago to Fort Wayne
New Castle District, Fort Wayne to Cincinnati OH
Huntington District, Montpelier OH to Peru OH
Fostoria District, Fort Wayne eastward.
Marion Distruct (most of it, southern parts are Track Warrants)
Frankfort District. (what little is still CTC)
CF&E line from Mike to Sand. NS CTC on the CF&E leased, CSX owned line.

Illinois
Lafayette District
Southern East and West Districts, a few isolated CTC islands near New Albany and Princeton IN
Frankfort District. (what little is still CTC)
South Vernia on the Monon! No joke, it's still active on the NS CTC system.

CN/GTW
South Bend sub (NOT ATCS, But decodable US&S Genisys protocol)

I think that is it, There is a MESS of stuff near Chicago. You would spend forever trying to list it.
« Last Edit: May 20, 2014, 05:38:28 PM by indyspy »
If in doubt, Notch it out!

Kelthomp

  • Chief Dispatcher
  • *****
  • Posts: 543
Re: Setting up ATCS
« Reply #9 on: May 20, 2014, 05:47:24 PM »
Does the Illinois District ATCS cover Logansport?

indyspy

  • Tycoon
  • ******
  • Posts: 9886
  • Resident ATCS guru.
Re: Setting up ATCS
« Reply #10 on: May 20, 2014, 05:50:10 PM »
Yes
If in doubt, Notch it out!

Kelthomp

  • Chief Dispatcher
  • *****
  • Posts: 543
Re: Setting up ATCS
« Reply #11 on: May 20, 2014, 07:49:18 PM »
What website do I go to get to the Lafayette District ATCS?

xgap

  • President
  • *****
  • Posts: 1881
Re: Setting up ATCS
« Reply #12 on: August 03, 2014, 11:53:18 PM »
How about CSX Texas?

T Alan

  • Dispatcher
  • *****
  • Posts: 416
Re: Setting up ATCS
« Reply #13 on: August 04, 2014, 11:00:47 AM »
How about CSX Texas?

I don't believe any servers exist on the Texas. Not positive.

indyspy

  • Tycoon
  • ******
  • Posts: 9886
  • Resident ATCS guru.
Re: Setting up ATCS
« Reply #14 on: August 04, 2014, 11:07:51 AM »
That CTC never was ATCS. Something about it being a simplistic oddball system that wouldn't handle it.
If in doubt, Notch it out!

CIOR

  • The Second
  • Administrator
  • Jay Gould
  • *****
  • Posts: 14292
Re: Setting up ATCS
« Reply #15 on: August 04, 2014, 04:16:18 PM »
I'm trying to find hosts for atcs in Louisville...anyone interested?

indyspy

  • Tycoon
  • ******
  • Posts: 9886
  • Resident ATCS guru.
Re: Setting up ATCS
« Reply #16 on: August 04, 2014, 04:28:16 PM »
Anyone know anyone who lives in Floyds Knobs?
If in doubt, Notch it out!